Who's in the USBPO


    USBPO "Task Groups" focused on very specific Burning Plasma issues that cut across the Topical Group boundaries may be formed to carry out work to address those issues. Task Groups are authorized in the Charter for the U.S. Burning Plasma Organization, as amended November 13, 2007.

Task Group Discussions

    Additional information and discussions related to each Task Group are available in the private forum. USBPO membership and a forum account log-in are required to access the information and to participate in discussions.   Click here to go to the"Task Groups" forum.   Note: On that page, you may have to press 'Click here to log in' if you are not logged into the forum.

    If you are a USBPO member but do not have a forum account then you may sign up here:    Request forum account (USBPO members only)

Active Task Groups

Modes of Research Participation on ITER
Leaders: Rajesh Maingi and Mike Walker
A USBPO working group on Modes of Operation for ITER was formed in 2012 to provide input to the ITER Organization (IO) to help the IO define how ITER will operate as an experimental device. Work in the group is conducted through a series of telephone conferences and began in earnest in late 2012. Early activities included hearing input from major stakeholders, including the US IPO and the IO. Through this process and internal discussions a decision was made to focus on three major areas of activity.

Visit the Modes of Research Participation on ITER page

Final Report: Recommendations for ITER Experimental Operation, U.S. Team Formation and Participation

Seminar: Recommendations for ITER Experimental Operations Procedures and US ITER formation and management.
Disruption Task Group
Leaders: Valerie Izzo (UCSD) and Robert Granetz (MIT)
The task group exists to coordinate US-wide disruption research efforts (both experiment and theory), to identify gaps and suggest priorities, and particularly to ensure that outstanding issues for the ITER Disruption Mitigation System are addressed in a timely manner. The US ITER Project Office has the responsibility to provide ITER's DMS.

Visit the 2014 National Campaign on Disruption Avoidance & Mitigation.

Visit the U.S. Disruption Mitigation 2012 Workshop webpage.

To become involved, please contact Valerie Izzo, or subscribe to the Disruption Task Group mailing list.

Information on recent task group meetings can be found on the USBPO Disruption Task Group forum.

The current list of Disruption Task Group members.

Completed Tasks

International Collaboration, 2011
Virtual Forum, 2012
Planning for US Participation in ITER, 2009
Planning for US participation in ITER, 2007
Energy Policy Act (EPAct), 2006
Leaders: Robert Granetz, John Wesley
Visit the U.S. Disruption Mitigation Workshop webpage
ITER Issue Cards, 2006
ITER Physics Tasks, 2006-2007
Privacy Policy
Who's in the USBPO News and Events References and Links Media Forums Contact Us